Skip to Content

Palos Health Awards and Accreditations

Over the years, Palos Health has been recognized by a number of organizations for its dedication toward patient care. 

Accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations - Palos Hospital has earned a Gold Seal of Approval® from The Joint Commission®.


Full Accreditation - American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer (CoC)

The Palos Health cancer program is fully accredited with the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer for its commitment to high-quality patient-centered cancer care.

Gold-Level Beacon Award for Excellence - American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN)
The Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at Palos Health received the Beacon Award for Excellence due to the caregivers' ability to successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN's six Healthy Work Environment Standards.
Beacon Award Logo


Blue Distinction - Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois
Palos Health was selected as a Blue Distinction Care Center+ for Spine Surgery. Blue Distinction Centers demonstrate expertise and deliver improved patient safety as well as better health outcomes.

BCBS Spine Logo

Four Star - CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
CMS awards up to a 5-star rating based on a variety of aspects regarding quality of care. Palos Hospital was one of only twenty-seven percent of the nation's hospitals to have received a 4-star rating, while only a select 6 percent received a 5-star rating.

CMS Logo

Accredited for 2 years - College of American Pathologists
Palos Hospital received a 2-year accreditation from the College of American Pathologists (CAP) due to the ability to meet the highest standards of laboratory quality and proficiency testing. 

College of American Pathologists Logo

Lantern Award - Emergency Nurses Association
Palos Hospital’s Emergency Department has been selected as a recipient of the Emergency Nurses Association’s (ENA) 2019 Lantern Award for demonstrating exceptional and innovative performance in leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.

Lantern Award Logo


Certified Program (3 years) - AACVPR (American Association of Cardiac Rehabilitation)
Palos Health's Cardiac Rehabilitation Department was recognized for its commitment to improving the quality of life by enhancing standards of care.

AACVPR Certification Logo

Four Star - CMS
Palos Hospital has received a four-star rating from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS). The ratings were created by CMS to improve the transparency and accessibility of hospital quality information, making it easier for consumers to learn about hospital value when comparing facilities in their area side-by-side.

CMS Logo

Echocardiography Laboratory (3 years) - Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Echocardiography Laboratories
Palos Hospital received accreditation for its dedication to ensuring quality patient care and promoting health care.


Most Wired - AHA
HealthCare’s Most Wired® survey is published annually by Hospitals & Health Networks (H&HN). The 2017 Most Wired® survey and benchmarking study was a leading industry barometer measuring information technology (IT) use and adoption among hospitals nationwide. The survey of 698 participants, representing an estimated 2,158 hospitals (more than 39 percent of all hospitals in the U.S.) examined how organizations leveraged IT to improve performance for value-based health care in the areas of infrastructure, business and administrative management; quality and safety; and clinical integration.Most Wired Logo

3 Year Accreditation - American Diabetes Association
The Outpatient Diabetes Program received a 3-year accreditation for their programs at Palos Health instructing patients and family members on the prevention and management of diabetes, including type 1, type 2, gestational and pre-diabetes.

Five Star - CMS
Palos Hospital received a five-star rating—the highest possible—from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the federal agency that runs the Medicare program. Across Illinois, 161 of 185 hospitals were rated. Only 20 Illinois hospitals received a five-star rating.

CMS Logo